Enquiry Cart

X
  • No products in the list
X
  • No products in the list

1.0 Can A Silkscreen Print Be Made On Any Surfaces? A Comprehensive Guide to Silkscreen Printing

1.1 Introduction

Screen printing, or silkscreen, silkscreen printing, dates back at least 100 years. It is said to have first started in China during the Song Dynasty, then adapted by other Asian countries such as Japan, and then introduced to western Europe in the late 18th century. Artists such as Roy Lichtenstein, Andy Warhol, Arthur Okamura and many others have used this method of printing to express their creativity.

silkscreen print
Silkscreen Printing
(Source: Million Advertising & Silk Screen Pte Ltd)

Also known as serigraphy or serigraph printing, this method of print refers to the process of creating a stencil or a separate screen, and then using it to apply additional layers of ink onto the printing surface. Each colour needs to be applied using a different stencil. To get a multi-coloured image, the printer will apply one colour at a time, and use repeated screens to achieve the final image.

1.2 The Silkscreen Printing Process

The industrial screen printing process, which is automated, uses advanced inks and materials together with computer technology to conduct mass print. For large volumes of products, it is critical to ensure that the applied layers work perfectly. The commercial screen printing industry uses a wide range of inks for this silkscreen printing method, such as solvent-based inks, water-based inks, plastisol inks, UV-curing inks and special varnishes.

The first step of the screen printing process is creating the design. After that, the design will be printed on a transparent acetate film. The next step is to use the design to create the screen and select the screen mesh count, which is the total number of fibres in one square inch. The mesh count you need will depend on the design. A higher mesh count means that you can print a design in finer details.

After the screen mesh has been selected, the silkscreen printer will coat it with a light-reactive emulsion layer such as diazo or dual-cure emulsions. He will then place the transparent acetate film with the design on the screen mesh under a bright ultraviolet UV light, and the emulsion will harden and develop after some time. It is important to use separate screens for multiple different colours.

After the screen has been exposed for some time, the areas that are not covered will harden, and the areas that are not hardened will be rinsed away to reveal a clear imprint. The screen will be dried at this stage, and the screen printer will do touch-ups to it to match the original design.

The next step involves the preparation for print, where the material to be printed is placed below the screen. The silkscreen printer will now pour the desired colour ink to the top of the screen, spreading it across with a squeegee or rubber blade evenly to force the ink past the threads of the silk mesh. If any specific areas are left empty, the ink will set there and transfers onto the material, hence printing the design on the product, which will be heat-cured by passing it through a dryer to ensure that it is fade-proof. The mesh can also be washed and then used to create new stencils or screens.

Industrial screen printers normally use different kinds of screen printing machines, but these are the most common types – flat-bed, cylinder and rotary. Most modern commercial printers will use an automatic rotary carousel printer as this allows them to use many different screens at the same time.  

1.3 Types of Silkscreen Printing

There are six main types of screen printing processes, which will produce vastly different results so it is important for you to understand them.

  • Spot Colour Screen Printing

Spot colour screen printing is the most common silkscreen printing process which uses the ink’s stock colour by printing it through the screen of the mesh. Advantages of this method is that it produces a vibrant spot colour and is a simpler technique as compared to other silkscreen printing methods. This method is often used for printing on garments such as t-shirts and jackets.

  • Halftone Screen Printing

Single colours in gradients are printed in halftone screen printing, which uses a single ink colour that becomes half-toned – a different shade when viewed from a distance. This is a cost-effective method because only one colour is used. This process is most often used to obtain a multicolour printing look without actually printing them.

  • Grayscale Screen Printing

One of the most cost-effective screen printing methods, grayscale printing involves printing full-colour images as one colour grayscales or halftones, and is often used to print black and white designs onto fabrics.

  • Duotone Screen Printing

Similar to the sepia-toned printing technique in photography, duotone screen printing combines two halftones to print the same image with two colours. A black halftone is first printed with black ink, and then a second halftone is printed with colour ink. The final output is sophisticated and refined.

  • CMYK Screen Printing

Considered as the most complicated screen printing methods out there, CMYK silkscreen printing uses the four basic colours – cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y) and black (K) to produce the necessary colour tones.

  • Simulated Screen Printing

A versatile silkscreen printing method as it can be used for both lighter and darker shades of materials, the simulated silkscreen printing process combines the CMYK silkscreen printing technique with the spot colour silkscreen printing process. Businesses love to use this process, as it can be used to produce photorealistic print details.

1.4 Can You Use Silkscreen Printing on Any Surfaces?

A silkscreen print is most commonly used for paper and fabric printing, such as for custom t-shirts like polo t-shirts and hoodies. However, silkscreen printing can also be used for custom designs on other materials and surfaces such as plastic, wood, metal and even glass and ceramics.

Some of the industries that use silkscreen printing method include industrial manufacturing, panel builders and system integrators, and engineering, procurement and construction. These industries often use silkscreen print on identification products and labelling needs such as plastic products, scaffold tags, fire equipment location signs, traffic signs, facility signs, and graphic overlays like control panels.

Other examples of products where silkscreen printing are used include decals, labels and signs, as well as corporate gifts such as clocks and watch faces, plaques and shields, balloons, pens and so on. 

1.5 Advantages of Using Silkscreen Printing

Silkscreen printing is a popular method of printing in industrial printing as there are many benefits.

1.5.1 Cost-Effective

Silkscreen printing is a fairly simple process and large runs of the same graphics can often be printed together economically, as compared to digital processes. It allows the printer to create a stencil, and then easily reproduce a design from the original image multiple times, as the same stencil can be used. The set-up time only applies in the initial creation of the stencil, and repeated designs can be run quickly and efficiently.

The parts used in the silkscreen method of printing are also easy to replace, and they can withstand wear and tear. Hence, the costs saved can be passed on to the customers.

1.5.2 Durability

Most industrial customers also choose the silkscreen printing method because the final products are more durable and long-lasting, and will not fade or become dull overtime. A silkscreen print lasts longer because of the ink adhesion, where different types of specialty inks are specially formulated to work with individual substrates. Such silkscreen printed inks adhere much more permanently than digital inks to uncoated surfaces. They can withstand more wear and tear too, without losing printed quality.

1.5.3 Excellent Print Quality 

A silkscreen print works very well with small text and fine-line illustrations, producing excellent colour prints, especially on colour logo printing and complex designs. Gone are the days when you view sharp and vibrant graphic designs on your computer, only to find them lacking in quality when they are actually manufactured. Such incidents will not happen with silkscreen printing.

Silkscreen printing is also the only printing method that can achieve a texturised, three-dimensional look and feel in your finished design.

1.5.4 Ability to Use Bolder Colours and Designs

The silkscreen printing method allows you to use thicker inks, and hence, your design team can play with bolder colours and designs, which will produce fantastic finishes with far more intense and vibrant colours and sharpness than the CMYK-style dots of solid colours used in digital printing.

Customers looking to increase their brand awareness in signages and other outdoor communications materials can opt for the silk screen printing method, because it will greatly increase your brand visibility.

1.5.5 Versatility

Silkscreen printing is more versatile than other traditional printing techniques because the surface does not have to be printed under pressure such as etching, nor does it have to be flat or planar. Also, you can use different inks to work on a variety of materials such as wood, metal, glass and plastic, as we have mentioned above.  

The screen method of printing also works well with unusual shapes like specialty parts with large and/or high-profile objects in industrial manufacturing sectors. 

1.6 Disadvantages of Using Silkscreen Printing

The silkscreen printing technique has more advantages, but there are also some disadvantages. Under certain circumstances, silkscreen printing can be costly. For example, if your quantity is small, it can be costly. The cost can also increase if your designs are very colourful, or need gradients.

To find out more about silkscreen printing or for our different types of silkscreen printing services, contact us for a chat!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top

Digital Content & Devices

查询车

X
  • No products in the list
X
  • No products in the list

1.0 您可以在任何表面上进行丝网印刷吗?丝网印刷综合指南

1.1 简介

丝网印刷至少可以追溯到 100 年前。据说,它最早在宋代开始于中国,后来被日本等亚洲的其他国家改编,然后18世纪后期传入西欧。 Roy Lichtenstein、Andy Warhol、Arthur Okamura 和其他许多艺术家都使用这种印刷方法来表达他们的创造力。

silkscreen print
丝网印刷
(资源: Million Advertising & Silk Screen Pte Ltd)

丝网印刷方法是指创建模板或单独的丝网,然后使用它在印刷表面上施加额外的油墨层的过程。每种颜色都需要使用不同的模板来应用。为了获得多色图像,打印机将一次应用一种颜色,并使用重复的屏幕来获得最终图像。

1.2 丝网印刷工艺

工业丝网印刷工艺是自动化的。它采用先进的油墨和材料,结合计算机技术进行大批量印刷。对于大量产品,确保应用层完美运作至关重要。商业丝网印刷行业使用多种油墨。用于这种丝网印刷方法的包括溶剂型油墨、水性油墨、热固油墨、UV固化油墨和特殊清漆。

丝网印刷过程的第一步是创建设计。之后,设计将被打印在透明的醋酸纤维薄膜上。下一步是使用设计创建筛网并选择筛网目数,即一平方英寸内的纤维总数。您需要的网格数取决于设计。更高的网格数意味着您可以打印更精细的设计。

选择丝网后,丝网印刷机将在其上涂上一层光反应性乳液层,例如重氮或双固化乳液。然后,他将带有图案的透明醋酸酯薄膜放在筛网上,在明亮的紫外线紫外线下照射,一段时间后乳液会变硬并显影。对多种不同颜色使用单独的屏幕非常重要。

屏幕曝光一段时间后,未覆盖的区域会变硬,未硬化的区域会被冲洗掉,露出清晰的印记。在这个阶段,丝网将被干燥,丝网印刷机将对其进行润色以匹配原始设计。

下一步涉及打印准备,将要打印的材料放置在屏幕下方。丝网印刷机现在会将所需颜色的墨水倒在丝网顶部,用刮刀或橡胶刀片将其均匀地铺开,迫使墨水通过丝网的螺纹。如果任何特定区域留空,墨水将固定在那里并转移到材料上,从而将设计打印在产品上,将通过烘干机进行热固化,以确保其防褪色。网格也可以清洗,然后用于创建新的模板或屏幕。

工业丝网印刷机通常使用不同种类的丝网印刷机,但这些是最常见的类型——平板式、滚筒式和旋转式。大多数现代商业印刷机将使用自动旋转轮转印刷机,因为这允许他们同时使用许多不同的屏幕。

1.3 丝网印刷的种类

丝网印刷工艺总共有六种主要类型,它们会产生截然不同的结果,因此了解它们很重要。

  • 专色丝网印刷

专色丝网印刷是最常见的丝网印刷工艺,它使用油墨的原色通过丝网印刷。这种方法的优点是它可以产生鲜艳的专色,并且与其他丝网印刷方法相比是一种更简单的技术。这种方法通常用于在 T 恤和夹克等服装上进行印花。

  • 半色调丝网印刷

渐变中的单一颜色以半色调丝网印刷方式印刷,该印刷使用一种变成半色调的单一油墨颜色——从远处观察时会出现不同的阴影。这是一种经济有效的方法,因为只使用一种颜色。此过程最常用于在不实际打印的情况下获得多色打印外观。

  • 灰度丝网印刷

作为最具成本效益的丝网印刷方法之一,灰度印刷涉及将全彩色图像印刷为一种颜色的灰度或半色调,并且通常用于将黑白设计印刷到织物上。

  • 双色丝网印刷

与摄影中的棕褐色印刷技术类似,双色调丝网印刷结合了两个半色调,以两种颜色印刷相同的图像。首先用黑色墨水打印黑色半色调,然后用彩色墨水打印第二个半色调。最终的输出是复杂和精致的。

  • CMYK丝网印刷

作为最复杂的丝网印刷方法,CMYK 丝网印刷使用四种基本颜色——青色 (C)、品红色 (M)、黄色 (Y) 和黑色 (K) 来产生必要的色调。

  • 模拟丝网印刷

一种通用的丝网印刷方法,因为它可以用于较浅和较深的材料,模拟丝网印刷工艺将 CMYK 丝网印刷技术与专色丝网印刷工艺相结合。企业喜欢使用此过程,因为它可用于生成逼真的打印细节。

1.4 您可以在任何表面上使用丝网印刷吗

丝网印刷最常用于纸张和织物印刷,例如马球 T 恤和连帽衫等定制 T 恤。然而,丝网印刷也可用于在塑料、木材、金属甚至玻璃和陶瓷等其他材料和表面上进行定制设计。

一些使用丝网印刷方法的行业包括工业制造面板制造商和系统集成商,以及工程、采购和施工。这些行业经常在标识产品和标签需求上使用丝网印刷,例如塑料产品脚手架标签, 消防设备位置标志, 交通标志, 设施标志,以及图形覆盖,如控制面板

其他使用丝网印刷的产品示例包括 贴花、标签和标志,以及企业礼品,例如时钟和表盘、牌匾和盾牌、气球、笔等。

1.5 使用丝网印刷的优势

丝网印刷是工业印刷中一种流行的印刷方法,因为它有很多好处。

1.5.1 成本效益

丝网印刷是一个相当简单的过程,与数字工艺相比,相同图形的大量运行通常可以经济地印刷在一起。它允许打印机创建模板,然后轻松地多次从原始图像复制设计,因为可以使用相同的模板。设置时间仅适用于模板的初始创建,重复设计可以快速有效地运行。

丝网印刷所使用的部件也很容易更换,并且可以承受磨损。因此,节省的成本可以转嫁给客户。

1.5.2 耐用性

大多数工业客户也选择丝网印刷方法,因为最终产品更耐用,更持久,并且不会褪色或加班变得暗淡。由于油墨的附着力,丝网印刷的持续时间更长,其中不同类型的特种油墨经过专门配制以与单独的基材一起使用。这种丝网印刷油墨比数字油墨更持久地粘附在未涂层的表面上。它们也可以承受更多的磨损,而不会损失印刷质量。

1.5.3 卓越的打印质量

丝网印刷非常适合小文本和细线插图,产生出色的彩色印刷品,尤其是彩色标志印刷和复杂设计。当您在计算机上查看清晰而充满活力的图形设计时,却发现它们在实际制造时缺乏质量的日子已经一去不复返了。丝网印刷不会发生此类事件。

丝网印刷也是唯一可以在您的成品设计中实现纹理化、三维外观和感觉的印刷方法。

1.5.4 能够使用更大胆的颜色和设计

丝网印刷方法允许您使用更厚的墨水,因此,您的设计团队可以使用更大胆的颜色和设计,这将产生比 CMYK 风格的纯色点更强烈和鲜艳的色彩和锐度的奇妙饰面。数码印刷。

希望在标牌和其他户外传播材料中提高品牌知名度的客户可以选择丝网印刷方法,因为它会大大提高您的品牌知名度。

1.5.5 多功能性

丝网印刷比其他传统印刷技术更通用,因为表面不必在压力下印刷,例如 蚀刻,也不必是平面的或平面的。此外,正如我们上面提到的,您可以使用不同的墨水来处理各种材料,例如木材、金属、玻璃和塑料。

丝网印刷方法也适用于不寻常的形状,例如工业制造领域中具有大型和/或高调物体的特殊零件。 

1.6 使用丝网印刷的缺点

丝网印刷技术有更多的优点,但也有一些缺点。在某些情况下,丝网印刷的成本可能很高。例如,如果您的数量很少,则成本可能很高。如果您的设计非常丰富多彩或需要渐变,成本也会增加。

要了解有关丝网印刷或我们不同类型的丝网印刷服务的更多信息,请联系我们

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

zh_CN简体中文
Scroll to Top

Digital Content & Devices